Website maintained by Timo van Eldijk
NVTB Bestuur
Last update September 26 2022

Picture by Levien van Zon


The Dutch Society for Theoretical Biology (NVTB) is a biological society focussing on theoretical, mathematical and philosophical biology. The society comprises 200 members from several universities, institutes and other organisations. The main aim of the society is to stimulate and represent theoretical biology in its broadest sense in the Netherlands.

Its activities consist in the following:

  • The NVTB organises meetings dealing with all subjects studied by its members, ranging from mathematical models or computer models of collective behaviour, ecology, biodiversity, population dynamics, evolution, immunology, epidemiology, physiology, etcetera down to philosophical aspects of biology.

  • The main meeting of the NVTB is the yearly meeting in Schoorl which lasts two days. Every year this meeting is booked full with about 50 participants. This meeting keeps members of the NVTB informed about what happens in theoretical biology in the Netherlands and it strengthens the contact among the members of the society.

  • Besides our main meeting we also sponsor symposia related to theoretical biology. If you would like to apply for a symposium sponsorship see this page

  • We also have a special mailing list to spread the word about job opportunities and interesting conferences & symposia. To subscribe to our mailing list see this link If you have a job opportunity or a conference/symposium that you would like to advertise please contact our secretary Timo van Eldijk.

    In order to become a member of the society, please send a mail to the secretary specifying your name, affiliation, address, email and telephone number and indicate also whether or not you want to subscribe to the mailing list. Contribution of the NVTB per person per year amounts to €12 for 2022, form 2023 onwards the membership fee will be raised to €15 .

    The board of the NVTB consists of

    President Secretary Treasurer
    Kirsten ten Tusscher
    Theoretical Biology
    Utrecht University
    Padualaan 8
    Hugo R. Kruytgebouw - Kamer Z510
    3584 CH Utrecht
    Timo van Eldijk
    University of Groningen
    Nijenborg 7
    Lineausborg 5172.0581
    9747 AG Groningen
    Magdalena Kozielska
    University of Groningen
    Nijenborg 7
    Lineausborg 5172.0502
    9747 AG Groningen
    Warning: Undefined variable $backto in /customers/7/8/0/ on line 2 Warning: Undefined variable $label in /customers/7/8/0/ on line 3